Wed, August 15th

Site built & maintained by



NASCAR and Whelen Engineering Announce Multi-Year Extensions

Company to Remain Entitlement Sponsor of NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR Whelen Euro Series Through 2024;
Whelen Signs Ten-Year Renewal with NASCAR Hall of Fame

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Dec. 7, 2017) – NASCAR and Whelen Engineering, Inc. announced today multi-year extensions to continue its entitlement sponsorship of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and the NASCAR Whelen Euro Series through 2024. Additionally, Whelen will also extend its designation as the “Official Warning Lights of NASCAR.”

“More than a decade of successful partnership has resulted in Whelen Engineering being deeply connected to many levels of our sport,” said Jim Cassidy, NASCAR senior vice president of racing operations . “The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR Whelen Euro Series are critical to reaching fans, developing talent and delivering great racing both domestically and abroad.”

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, NASCAR's oldest division of racecars, is the premiere asphalt modified circuit in the nation. With a history dating back to Daytona Beach in 1948, the tour features a mix of passionate, veteran drivers with emerging young talent and includes races from New England to South Carolina.

“Whelen Engineering has played a big role in NASCAR for many years and we are ecstatic to continue to support the sport with this extended relationship,” said Phil Kurze, Whelen Engineering vice president of motorsports. “Our ability to build brand and product recognition nationally and internationally due to our partnership helps drive our business and reach new customers.” more info..

Jimmy Blewett Wins Turkey Derby XLIV at Wall Stadium

In front of a packed house, Jimmy Blewett was on a tear for Turkey Derby XLIV at Wall Stadium Speedway. When all was said and done, Blewett took home feature wins in the Tour Type Modified, Freehold Ford Modified and the Elite Maintenance Modified divisions. Blewett also competed in the Dirt Modified and Snap-On Sportsman features where he finished 20th and 6th. Following Blewett in the Tour Type Modified Feature were Andrew Krause, Ron Frees, Ryan Preece and Kyle Ellwood. 33 mods took time for the 24 car start. Following Blewett in the Freehold Ford Modified Feature were Eric Mauriello, Steven Reed, Matt Hirschman and Tim Solomito rounding out the top 5. 29 Modifieds took time for the Freehold Ford Modified feature more info..

2018 Schedule For Whelen Mods Announced

Opener Set For Myrtle Beach; NHMS Extra-Distance Event On Tap

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will take the green flag on the 2018 season at South Carolina's Myrtle Beach Speedway in March, and the schedule will feature 16 championship points races at nine different venues.

The champion will once again be crowned at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, as the .625-mile hosts the 56th Sunoco World Series of Speedway Racing on Sunday, Oct. 14.

The calendar spotlight's some of the northeast's iconic short tracks, includes three fast southern venues and features the longest distance race in tour history as the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour takes center stage at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in September for a 250-lap showdown. more info..

Myers & Loftin Set For Return

Will Run Partial Schedule On Whelen Modified Tour With Harvey

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. --  Two former NASCAR modified champion drivers will be back in Whelen Modified Tour competition in 2018. 

In an announcement made by champion car owner Eddie Harvey on Friday morning, Burt Myers and Brian Loftin will team with Harvey to compete in a partial schedule next season, planning to run 8-10 races. Both drivers are former champions of the Whelen Southern Modified Tour and Harvey was a multiple-time championship car owner on the Southern Tour as well.

"It's pretty neat having two Southern Modified Tour champions come on board to our team," Harvey said. "Being that we had two in the past with George Brunnhoelzl III and Andy Seuss, it's neat to keep champions in the stable."

Myers was the final champion of the Whelen Southern Modified Tour in 2016, posting three victories and nine top five finishes in 11 races. He also won the series title in 2010 while winning two races. He had 19 career victories on the Southern Tour and 30 pole awards in 12 years of competition. Myers competed with Harvey in the season-finale at Thompson this year, qualifying seventh and finishing 13th -- that is where the deal first started.  more info..

Coby Adds To His Legacy With Fifth Title

Edges Thompson Winner Solomito For Whelen Modified Crown

THOMPSON, Conn. --  Back in April, Doug Coby walked away from a wrecked race car without even completing one lap in the Icebreaker 150 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park. Six months later, Coby capped the season at Thompson by completing an unthinkable comeback to win his fifth NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championship.

Sunday's fifth-place finish in the Sunoco World Series 150 was enough to completely erase his disasterous start to the season and wrap up his fourth straight title.

The Milford, Conn. driver becomes the first driver since the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour began in 1984 to accomplish the feat and only the third in the history of NASCAR modifieds, joining NASCAR Hall of Famers Richie Evans and Jerry Cook.

"We just kind of tugged away this year," Coby said. "We won one race in 2014 when we won the championship and we only won once this year. We were just so consistent." more results

Coby Makes Daring Pass To Get Past Bohn

Veteran Uses Lapped Traffic To Earn Modified Win

CONCORD, N.C. - Sometimes when you don't have the best car a driver must rely on instincts and experience to get the win.

Defending NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Doug Coby used both and it paid big dividends for the veteran at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The 38-year-old used lapped traffic in Turn 4 with 11 laps remaining in the 150-lap feature to get by Danny Bohn and win the Southern Slam 150. More Results

Ted Christopher Killed in Connecticut Plane Crash

It was confirmed that Christopher went down in a crash just before 2pm today. He was schedule to run in the NASCAR Whelen Modified Event today at Riverhead Speedway in the #82 modified owned by Danny Watts.

Christopher 59, was one of 2 people aboard the plane traveling to Riverhead Speedway when it went down in a wooded area behind houses.

NASCAR Statement On Ted Christopher 

“We are all saddened to learn of the tragic plane crash this afternoon that claimed the lives of NASCAR driver Ted Christopher and the aircraft's pilot," said NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France.

"As a championship driver on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and New England short tracks, Christopher was a throwback to NASCAR's roots. He was a tough racer's racer, and his hard driving style and candid personality endeared him to short track fans throughout the country. He will be missed throughout the racing community, in the garage and, especially, in the hearts of his many fans. NASCAR has his family and friends in its thoughts and prayers during this difficult time.”


Racing Legend Howie Hodge Passes and Longtime Northeastern Racing Photographer

Saw Modified Racing Thru The Eyes of the Lenses

1/28/17.. The Northeast short track racing scene lost a giant and cornerstone figure of the sport on Saturday.

Howie Hodge, a fixture as a photographer documenting racing across the country and primarily at Connecticut short tracks, passed away Saturday.

Hodge was 77. more info...