Statistical Advance:

Analyzing The Spring Classic 150 At Caraway Speedway


Text Box: Caraway Speedway Data    Race: # 2 of 10 (3-14-10)  Track Layout: .455-mile oval  Banking: semi-banked paved oval  Race Length: 150 laps/68.25 miles  ·	Is the home track for the southern modified tour.  ·	Has one of the longest NASCAR sanctioning affiliations.    Qualifying/Race Data  2009 pole winner: Burt Myers   2009 race winner: Ted Christopher (85.796 mph, 52:27)  Track qualifying record: George Brunnhoelzl III (102.844 mph, 15.752 seconds, 4/11/09)  Track race record (150 L): Tim Brown (90.977 mph, 44:31 min., 9-9-06)    NWSMT Active Win Leaders  1. Brian Loftin	7  2. L.W. Miller	6  3. Junior Miller	5  4. Ted Christopher	3  4. George Brunnhoelzl III	3  6. Tim Brown	2  6.  Andy Seuss	2    NWSMT Active Pole Leaders   1. Burt Myers	10  2. Tim Brown	5  3. Brian Loftin	4  4. George Brunnhoelzl III.	3  5. Andy Seuss.	2  	  DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (March 10, 2010) The sixth season of the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour continues this weekend when the tour returns to Caraway Speedway for the Spring Classic 150.

At Caraway Speedway:

•  Since the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour formed in 2005, there have been 63 races in the history of the series .

•  This will be the 30th NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour race at the track.

•  The track was built in 1966 initially as a dirt track and was later paved and configured to its current size of .455-miles in length.

•  T he track has been owned and operated by Russell & Valastra Hackett and their family since 1977.

•  A total of four drivers who have visited Victory Lane in the NWSMT races at Caraway will compete this weekend. Leading the group will be Brian Loftin, who holds the record for most wins at the track with seven.

•  Burt Myers holds the career record for the most Coors Light Pole awards at the track with 10 and won the pole for this race at Caraway last Spring.

•  Caraway Speedway will also host the tour on July 2 and Aug. 28.

Up To Speed

•  This will be the first of six NWSMT races to be held in the state of North Carolina this year. Charlotte Motor Speedway, Bowman Gray Stadium and Tri-County Motor Speedway will host the remaining events in the Tar Heel State.

•  The NWSMT has crowned four different drivers champion : Junior Miller (2005, 2006); L.W. Miller (2007); Brian Loftin (2008) and George Brunnhoelzl III (2009).



Selected Driver Highlights:

Zach Brewer (No. 11 Chevrolet)


Tim Brown (No. 83 Chevrolet)


James Civali (No. 79 Pontiac)


Bryan Dauzat (No. 97 Chevrolet)


Buddy Emory (No. 02 Chevrolet)


Frank Fleming (No. 40 Pontiac)


Brandon Hire (No. 44 Chevrolet)


Corey LaJoie (No. 19 Pontiac)


Brian Loftin (No. 23 Chevrolet)


L.W. Miller (No. 36 Pontiac)


Burt Myers (No. 1 Ford)


Jason Myers (No. 4 Ford)

Gene Pack (No. 31 Chevrolet)


Andy Seuss (No. 47 Dodge)


John Smith (No. 25 Chevrolet)


Upcoming Milestones/Benchmarks:


For more information, contact:

Tim Southers, NASCAR Public Relations, (386) 235-3634 or .


Close Window