Speedco/Lucas Oil to sponsor No. 36 Modified Driven By L.W. Miller

Miller's bid for 4 th Southern Modified title starts Sunday at Caraway

WINSTON SALEM, N.C. (March 10, 2011) – Three-time Southern Modified champion L.W. Miller will enter the 2011 NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified season with new sponsorship aboard his No. 36 Baker Motorsports modified and high hopes for his fourth championship in nine years.

Joining Miller's team this season is Speedco, a national company that specializes in quick lubes and tire services for the trucking industry, as well as Lucas Oil. Miller's No. 36 Speedco/Lucas Oil car will be one of the favorites in this Sunday's season-opener at Caraway Speedway in Sophia, N.C.

“ It's awesome that we are aligned with a company like Speedco, who supports good hometown racing like what we have in the NASCAR Whelen Modified Series,” Miller said. “We've got solid support from the ground up. We owe a big thanks to Darin Odle of Odle Motorsports, who put this deal together. We can focus on what's important, and that's winning another championship for Baker Motorsports.”

Miller is familiar with what it takes to win championships, as he has three of them to his credit (2003, 2004 and 2007.) He is a 23-time Southern Modified Tour winner with 53 top-fives and 72 top-10s. Last year he finished runner-up in the point standings with one win and five top-fives. His victory came at the famed Bowman-Gray Stadium on Aug. 7.

Miller's championship season in 2007 featured a career-high five wins, four of which came at Caraway Speedway, site of this weekend's season-opener.

“The tour has been racing at Caraway for a long time, and we've probably got more wins there than anyone else,” Miller said. “The place has always suited me. We won the season-opener there in 2008, and that is one of many great memories I have. With Speedco/Lucas Oil on board and a great-looking race car, we expect big things.”

Caraway will host four of the first six NASCAR Whelen Modified Series events (March 13, March 26, April 23, and July 1). The tour will make stops at Hickory (N.C.) Motor Speedway on (April 2) and South Boston (Va.) Speedway (April 16) in between the Caraway events.


March 13 – Caraway Speedway / Sophia, NC

March 26 – Caraway Speedway / Sophia, NC

April 2 – Hickory Motor Speedway / Newton, NC

April 16 – South Boston Speedway / South Boston, VA

April 23 – Caraway Speedway / Sophia, NC

July 1 – Caraway Speedway / Sophia, NC

Aug. 6 – Bowman-Gray Stadium / Winston-Salem, NC

Aug. 24 – Bristol Motor Speedway / Bristol, TN

Aug. 26 – Caraway Speedway / Sophia, NC

Sept. 3 – Langley Speedway / Hampton, VA

Sept. 11 – Thompson International Speedway / Thompson, CT

Sept. 17 – Caraway Speedway / Sophia, NC

Sept. 24 – Tri-County Motor Speedway / Hudson, NC

Oct. 13 – Charlotte Motor Speedway / Concord, NC


L.W. Miller





Close Window