Brunnhoelzl Triumphs At Tri-County

Fourth Win Puts Stranglehold On Season Points Lead

By Tim Southers, NASCAR
September 24, 2011 - 9:18pm

HUDSON, N.C. – George Brunnhoelzl III's fourth with of the 2011 campaign moved him one step closer to a second NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour championship as he took home the Tri-County 150 Saturday at Tri-County Motor Speedway.

After earning the Coors Light Pole Award earlier in the evening, Brunnhoelzl led early on and the regained the lead from Jason Myers with a decisive pass on Lap 73. The 2009 tour champion put it on cruise control from there for his 10th career victory.

Brunnhoelzl stretched his lead by more than 10 car-lengths as the end neared, but just the second caution of the event came out with five laps to go to negate the significant advantage. The West Babylon, N.Y., native was able to hold off his Andy Seuss – his teammate – on the final restart to seal the deal.

“We practiced long runs during most of the practice and it paid off for us tonight,” Brunnhoelzl said. “The guys on the crew did a great job making adjustments during practice to get the car right and here we are celebrating another win.”

Brunnhoelzl led every lap of the race before Myers was able to chase him down and challenge for the lead starting on Lap 51 and finally getting by on Lap 57.

Myers, who also led in last year's Tri-County 150, remained out front for next 15 laps before Brunnhoelzl reclaimed the lead and remained out front the rest of the night.

“”We had a good car but the car started going away a little on the long green flag run,” Myers said.

After Brunnhoelzl got back out front, Seuss, who fastest in practice earlier in the day, was able to also pass Myers for second place, however, he wasn't able to challenge for the lead.

Seuss settled for second followed by last year's Tri-County winner Burt Myers, Brandon Ward and Jason Myers in the top five.

“George had a great car and we had a great car tonight but we probably had to use ours up a little more coming up through the field and track position was very important,” Seuss said. “It's a good thing when you feel this down about second place but hopefully it is a sign of things to come.”

For Burt Myers, the top-three run was good and he still thinks his team has a win in them before the end of the season.

“We had a good car and we are getting consistent finishes in the top five,” he added. “Ever since I got hurt earlier this year and missed some races we are just going after wins and we still have three chances to get one this year and I think we have a great chance at Caraway or Charlotte.”

Tim Brown followed Jason Myers in sixth, with L.W. Miller, Austin Pack Renee Dupuis and Frank Fleming bringing home the top 10.

Miller used his seventh-place finish to win the Featherlite Most Improved Driver Award with Brandon Ward taking home Coca-Cola Move of the Race honors advancing nine positions during the race.

Austin Pack continues to lead the Sunoco Rookie of the Year standings with his fourth award this season as highest finishing rookie driver in the Tri-County 150.

With the victory, Brunnhoelzl extended his lead in the championship standings by 20 points on Seuss Saturday night. Brunnhoelzl now leads his Ideal Racing teammate 1,875-1,721. Jason Myers used his strong showing to move into third place passing John Smith by two points (1,652-1,650). Miller rounds out the top five with 1,601 points.

The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour has three races remaining on the schedule. Up next will be the Caraway 150 on Saturday, Oct. 1 at Caraway Speedway in Asheboro, N.C.

For additional information, contact:

Tim Southers, NASCAR IMC, (386) 235-3634 or


Whelen Southern Modified Tour-Tri-County 150 Unofficial Results


At Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, N.C.

Lap length: 0.4 miles

(Start position in parentheses)

1. (1) #09 George Brunnhoelzl III, West Babylon, NY, Chevrolet, 152 laps, 74.985 mph.

2. (5) #11 Andy Seuss, Hampstead, NH, Chevrolet, 152.

3. (2) #1 Burt Myers, Walnut Cove, NC, Ford, 152.

4. (13) #44 Brandon Ward, Winston-Salem, N.C., Chevrolet, 152.

5. (3) #4 Jason Myers, Walnut Cove, NC, Ford, 152.

6. (6) #02 Tim Brown, Cana, VA, Chevrolet, 152.

7. (7) #36 L.W. Miller, Dushore, PA, Chevrolet, 152.

8. (14) #31 Austin Pack, Winston-Salem, NC, Chevrolet, 152.

9. (4) #59 Renee Dupuis, Glastonbury, Conn., Chevrolet, 152.

10. (18) #40 Frank Fleming, Mt. Airy, NC, Ford, 151.

11. (16) #2 Josh Nichols, Winston-Salem, NC, Chevrolet, 151.

12. (11) #25 John Smith, Mount Airy, NC, Chevrolet, 150.

13. (17) #3 Terry Gaither, Walkertown, N.C., Chevrolet, 150.

14. (10) #8 Jonathan Kievman, Deerfield Beach, FL, Chevrolet, 150.

15. (9) #71 Dean Ward, Winston-Salem, N.C., Chevrolet, 150.

16. (15) #12 Mike Norman, Lewisville, NC, Ford, 149.

17. (12) #24 Darryl Lacks, Forrest, Va., Chevrolet, 139.

18. (8) #7 Thomas Stinson, Chester, VA, Chevrolet, 62, motor.

Race Statistics

Time of Race: 48 minutes 39 seconds

Margin of Victory: .584 seconds

Fastest Qualifier: G.Brunnhoelzl III (94.681 mph, 15.209 seconds)

Caution Flags: 2 for 12 laps.

Lead Changes: 2 among 2 drivers.

Lap Leaders: G. Brunnhoelzl III 1-57; J. Myers 58-72; G. Brunnhoelzl III 73-152.

Standings: 1. G. Brunnhoelzl III, 1875; 2. A. Seuss, 1721; 3. J. Myers, 1652; 4. J. Smith, 1650; 5. L. Miller, 1601; 6. F. Fleming, 1584; 7. T. Brown, 1571; 8. A. Pack,1474; 9. B. Myers, 1377; 10. T. Stinson, 1164.


Close Window