Bohn Captures First NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour Win At Caraway

Brunnhoelzl Title Celebration Put On Hold


ASHEBORO, N.C. (Oct. 6, 2012) – Rookie Danny Bohn played it right.

The Freehold, N.J., driver started the race from the sixth position and bided his time before making a pass on Brian Loftin with eight laps remaining to pick up his first career NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour victory on Saturday at Caraway Speedway in the Mid-Atlantic Shoot-Out 150.

Bohn methodically moved up through the field from the outset of the event. A pass of Jason Myers on Lap 140 left the 24-year-old Bohn in second place.

“When I got to second (place) I didn't know if I had anything for (Loftin),” said Bohn. “I saw him get a little loose going into to Turn 1 but until lap 143 I didn't think I was going to be able to pass him.”

For Bohn, whose father grew up with his current boss – NASCAR legendary car owner and crew chief – Ray Evernham in New Jersey, the win was icing on the cake for his rookie season on the tour.

“I have had a bunch of good runs this year and a little bad luck, but there is one thing I wanted to do all year and that was to win a tour race as a rookie. I want to thank my dad, crew and all my sponsors for helping make this happen.”

Loftin, who led a race-high 129 laps, was forced to settle for second followed by Kyle Ebersole in third. Jason Myers crossed the line in fourth with Tim Brown in tow for fifth.

Joe Scarbrough, Thomas Stinson, Andy Seuss, John Smith and points leader George Brunnhoelzl III rounded out the top 10.

Loftin appeared unbeatable for most of the race after taking the lead from Brunnhoelzl on Lap 14, but felt there might have been a mechanical issue with his car that cost him his chance for a second win this season at Caraway.

Brunnhoelzl, who won the pole position earlier in the day, struggled through a subpar night. Eight of his 16 career tour wins have come at Caraway. Brunnhoelzl needed to finish in front of Jason Myers, Bohn and the rest of the championship contenders to lock up his third tour title in the last four seasons having won the prize in 2009 and 2011. As a result, he'll have some work to do in the season finale in Charlotte. Brunnhoelzl will carry a 43-point lead on Jason Myers into that final race with Bohn just two points in back of that.

With the victory, Bohn locked up a spot in the NASCAR Whelen Modified race at the UNOH Battle At The Beach on the .4-mile oval at Daytona International Speedway next February during Speedweeks.

The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour closes out the 2012 season on Thursday, Oct. 11 at Charlotte (N.C.) Motor Speedway in the "UNOH Southern Slam 150".


Tim Southers

Integrated Marketing Communications

(386) 235-3634


NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour-Mid-Atlantic Shoot Out 150 Results

Saturday At Caraway SpeedwayAsheboro, NC

Lap length: 0.455 miles

(Start position in parentheses)

1. (6) #65 Danny Bohn, Freehold, NJ, Chevrolet, 150 laps.

2. (3) #23 Brian Loftin, Lexington, NC, Chevrolet, 150.

3. (4) #51 Kyle Ebersole, Hummelstown, PA, Chevrolet, 150.

4. (2) #4 Jason Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., Ford, 150.

5. (7) #02 Tim Brown, Cana, VA, 150.

6. (14) #37 Joe Scarbrough, Richmond, VA, Chevrolet, 150.

7. (11) #7 Thomas Stinson, Chester, VA, Chevrolet, 150.

8. (5) #11 Andy Seuss, Hampstead, N.H., Chevrolet, 150.

9. (10)#25 John Smith, Mount Airy, NC, 150.

10. (1) #09 George Brunnhoelzl, III, West Babylon, N.Y., 146.

11. (8) #1 Burt Myers, Walnut Cove, NC, 144.

12. (16) #77 Gary Putnam, Concord, NC, Chevrolet, 142.

13. (12) #9 AJ Winstead, Richmond, VA, Chevrolet, 138.

14. (9) #40 Frank Fleming, Mount Airy, N.C., 135, parked.

15. (15) #18 Dalton Baldwin, Dunedin, Fla., Chevrolet, 104, mechanical.

16. (13) #80 Michael Speeney, Newtown, PA, 20, engine.

Race Statistics

Time of Race: 54 minutes 32 seconds

Margin of Victory: 1.029 seconds

Fastest Qualifier: G.Brunnhoelzl, III (103.481 mph, 15.829 seconds)

Caution Flags: 4 for 16 laps.

Lead Changes: 2 among 3 drivers.

Lap Leaders: G. Brunnhoelzl,III 1-13; B. Loftin 14-142; D. Bohn 143-150.

Standings: 1. G. Brunnhoelzl,III, 420; 2. J. Myers 377, 3. D. Bohn, 375; 4. T. Brown 360, 5. A. Seuss, 349; 6. K. Ebersole, 343; 7. F. Fleming, 330; 8. J. Smith 330, 9. T. Stinson, 326; 10. B. Myers 312.


Points Standings / Photos

Close Window