Seuss Leads Wire-To-Wire At Caraway

Holds Off Charge From Brunnhoelzl III For 10th Win At Track

SOPHIA, N.C. (July 4, 2014) Andy Seuss continues to roll in NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour events at Caraway Speedway.

The 27-year-old from Hampstead, New Hampshire, completed the sweep on the day's on-track events at the .455-mile banked asphalt oval. Seuss was fastest in practice, won his eighth pole Coors Light Pole Award at the track and led every lap en route to winning the Daggett Shuler Attorneys At Law 150 at Caraway. It was his fourth consecutive victory at the track and 10th of his career.

Seuss' 10 wins at Caraway tie him with runner-up finisher George Brunnhoelzl III for the most in series history. The two drivers were bumper to bumper in the second half of the 150-lap event, but after clearing traffic on Lap 144, Seuss used a clear track to pull away from the defending Tour champion and secure his third win of the season.

JR Bertuccio, Danny Bohn and Kyle Ebersole rounded out the top five.

Gary Putnam was sixth, followed by Jason Myers, Bryan Dauzat, Spencer Davis and David Calabrese.

The wire-to-wire win was the fifth of Seuss' career and fourth at Caraway. He won the 2014 season opener in similar fashion.

Seuss felt pressure early from fellow front row starter Bohn. In the opening laps, Bohn looked for a way around Seuss on the inside and outside, but wasn't able to mount enough of a charge to overtake him for the top spot. Just after the midway point, Brunnhoelzl III took the lead from Bohn and began his attack on the frontrunner, but Seuss stuck to the inside lane, forcing all challengers to try and pass him on the high side, a feat they the rest of the field was unsuccessful at.

The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will be back on track Saturday, August 2 at the 10th Annual 199 at Bowman Gray Stadium in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour-Daggett Schuler Attorneys at Law 150 Results


At Caraway Speedway

Sophia, N.C.

Lap length: 0.455 miles

(Start position in parentheses)

1. (1) Andy Seuss, Hampstead, N.H., Chevrolet, 150 laps, 65.294 mph.

2. (3) George Brunnhoelzl, III, West Babylon, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.

3. (5) JR Bertuccio, Centereach, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.

4. (2) Danny Bohn, Freehold, NJ, Chevrolet, 150.

5. (6) Kyle Ebersole, Hummelstown, Pa., Ford, 150.

6. (11) Gary Putnam, Vernon, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.

7. (10) Jason Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., Ford, 150.

8. (4) Bryan Dauzat, Alexandria, La., Chevrolet, 150.

9. (12) Spencer Davis, Dawsonville, Ga., Pontiac, 150.

10. (17) David Calabrese, Toms River, N.J., Chevrolet, 149.

11. (16) Thomas Stinson, Chester, Va., Chevrolet, 149.

12. (13) Bobby Measmer, Jr., Concord, N.C., Chevrolet, 149.

13. (9) Luke Fleming, Mount Airy, N.C., Ford, 149.

14. (18) Mike Norman, Lewisville, N.C., Chevrolet, 148.

15. (15) Brian Loftin, Lexington, N.C., Chevrolet, 95, engine.

16. (14)Dalton Baldwin, Dunedin, Fla., Chevrolet, 77, steering.

17. (7) Burt Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., Ford, 72, electrical.

18. (8) Joe Ryan Osborne, Holland, Pa., Chevrolet, 29, engine.

19. (19)Bud McIntyre, Easton, Pa., Chevrolet, 7, handling.

Race Statistics

Time of Race: 1 hour 2 minutes 43 seconds

Margin of Victory: .802 seconds

Fastest Qualifier: A.Seuss (103.006 mph, 15.902 seconds)

Caution Flags: 5 for 21 laps.

Lead Changes: 0 among 1 drivers.

Lap Leaders: A. Seuss 1-150.

Standings: 1. A. Seuss, 227; 2. G. Brunnhoelzl,III, 216; 3. J. Bertuccio, 201; 4. L.Fleming, 185; 5. B. Myers, 182; 6. D. Bohn, 181; 7. J. Myers, 181; 8. G. Putnam, 177; 9. K. Ebersole, 171; 10. J. Osborne, 167.